Testimony Regarding the Marriage Equity Bill in April

Most my posts are about very current events, but this was sent to me today and I liked it.

I tend to feel that there is no real argument about gay rights/equality/marriage. I know there literally is an argument, but it is baseless. We are a country that is historically slow to grant rights to those who deserve them and then look back and think “Who were those ignorant people who allowed that injustice to last for so long?” It has already been too long with gay rights. Now that I am an adult, I am a part of the group that future generations will look back on with scorn and fringe groups will deify at the the “good” times when America was “real.” I am ashamed to be a part of that group. But I cannot get too down when I see people like Phillip standing up and testifying truthfully. I would like to thank the progressives of Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, and Vermont (and New Hampshire come January 1, 2010). I hope to see the other 46 (45) come around soon.

Edit: Nate Silver at FiveThirtyEight.com just posted a blog about Maine’s aim to overturn their gay marriage law. He agrees with me that the arguments against gay marriage just don’t make sense.

About Sylvia Fredericks

Second-Year MPA student at the La Follette School for Public Affairs (University of Wisconsin - Madison)
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Gay Rights, National, News, Politics, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Testimony Regarding the Marriage Equity Bill in April

  1. Erika says:

    I love to see people of all generations speaking out for equal rights. This speech reminds me that there have been many before who have shared in this struggle – this is not just something for “my generation.” But I hope that equal rights for gays and lesbians can be the legacy we leave for future generations.

Leave a Reply

