Interesting News from Elsewhere

I have an almost complete disregard of precedent, and a faith in the possibility of something better. It irritates me to be told how things have always been done. I defy the tyranny of precedent. I go for anything new that might improve the past.
Clara Barton

  • Paul Tough, who wrote an excellent book about the Harlem Children’s Zone, criticizes the legislature for not funding the Promise Zone’s project that the Brookings Institution and I criticized.
  • Paul Krugman explains that being a government employee is not, in fact, akin to being on welfare.
  • When I was in calculus at a community college in Florida, my teacher had us write an essay on sunspots for extra credit. In it, I explored why sunspots are not the cause of global warming. It was an easy essay to write. Maybe I should send it to Ron Johnson.
  • Volokh Conspiracy discusses the relationship between the progressive movement and racism through a discussion of Jack London.
About Sylvia Fredericks

Second-Year MPA student at the La Follette School for Public Affairs (University of Wisconsin - Madison)
This entry was posted in Blogging, Congress, education, Ethics, News, Policy, Politics, Wisconsin, Wisconsin Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

