VEEP’s Viewpoint – 8/31/2010

School starts this week and I know you are all excited. I think there are probably a good number of Bobs who do not have class this week. I am not among them. If you’re also taking Politics of Education, I’ll see you Thursday evening! Fun doesn’t stop when school starts, but it does change. Instead of days spent lounging in the sun, it is evenings spent reading about agendas, alternatives, and public policies (and if you’re looking to check that book out from the library – too late. I already got it).

As I mentioned last week, I put some effort into enjoying what Madison has to offer during this last week. A recap is below.

On August 24, I (and many of you) went to the LSSA picnic at the La Follette house. The food was excellent and there was tons of it. I got to chat with some second-years who just got back to Madison, as well as some first-years who are eagerly anticipating starting classes.

On August 25, I had a lot of work to do, but I was determined to attend Jazz at 5, so I took my work with me. I was able to snap a few pictures and had a really good time listening to some excellent music. It is also calm enough of an event that I was able to do some work while listening.

Jazz at 5

On August 26, I had every intention if going to the Woman Suffrage Celebration. However, I ended up needing to run some errands for LSSA and go out to dinner with out of town guests. I had an excellent night, but have no report on the event.

August 27 is another story. I went to Dane Dances at the Monona Terrace. It was one of the best events I have gone to in Madison (and it’s free!). As I was running late (always), I missed the first band, but Christopher’s Project was really good and a lot of fun.

Dane Dances!

80s VS 90s – Michael Jackson’s Birthday edition at the Majestic Theater was a lot of fun Saturday night. There was a photographer there taking photos for a local newspaper project on dance parties. I didn’t get any pictures, but look for the article!

Ride the Drive on Sunday was excellent. Over 50,000 people participated and Lance Armstrong was there. I volunteered until almost 2pm and then rode the drive a couple times. It was way more fun to ride on the city streets than I imagined. The best part was the really fun bicycles.

Ride the Drive

Last night was Bill Nye at the Monana Terrace.

Bill Nye

I hope you all have been enjoying some of the fun available in the Madison summertime. I’ll try to keep people posted on free, fun events during the semester, too. If you know of anything, feel free to shoot me an email at sjfredericks at wisc dot edu.

About Sylvia Fredericks

Second-Year MPA student at the La Follette School for Public Affairs (University of Wisconsin - Madison)
This entry was posted in Events, LSSA, Madison and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

